American Web Loan's reply to:

Withdrawal more than agreed upon

American Web Loan is in receipt of the review filed by Albert Crawford regarding payments.
Upon receipt of the review, American Web Loan completed a thorough review of the account. The records reflect that there was an isolated instance where a second payment drafted in conjunction with Mr. Crawford’s regularly scheduled payment. The lending system was set to automatically refund the second payment; however, Mr. Crawford notified us that the refund was not received. The records reflect that the refund was successfully processed on August 3, 2019.
American Web Loan apologizes for any inconvenience Mr. Crawford may have experienced.
ID
#1607397 Review #1607397 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$35
Preferred solution
481.36 refund

On July 26 2019 AWL withdrew 2 monthly amount of 481.36 I contacted AWL about the withdrawal. Everyone I talked too was very apologetic and stated we will take care of this on the 27 July it is now the 31st and they are still taking care of it. I now have to pay late fees on my account

Albert Crawford

American Web Loan's reply to:

The worst experience ever

The customer had raised her questions regarding her eligibility for a partial refund of her disclosed finance charge after she paid her loan in full early. American Web Loan had communicated with her in writing on 8/7/19 and explained why she was not entitled to the requested refund due to the fact that the entire finance charge had not been assessed at origination of the loan. Instead, she was only assessed the daily interest amount on her principal balance for the time that her loan was in repayment.
ID
#1604861 Review #1604861 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
American Web Loan Customer Care
Pros
  • Easy and quick to get my money
Cons
  • Too many complaints with bbb
  • Taken advantage of
  • Refusal to communicate via e-mail
Reason of review
Terms in loan agreement not being followed and customer service
Loss
$1376
Preferred solution
Partial refund of 800
American Web Loan - The worst experience ever
Update by user Aug 28, 2019

Just to give an update on this. I called American Web Loan again after writing this review and sent 2 more additional emails.

The last person I spoke said she would escalate my complaint to their resolution department and have someone contact me back. Well that never happened. No one from AWL ever contacted me back. Instead i received a letter in the mail from AWL and their response was the same response that the representatives i spoke to kept telling me.

The letter never talked about my actual complaint which was about the "prepayment" statement in my loan agreement. All it said was again, that I am not entitled to a refund. And that by me paying the loan off early I dont have to pay an prepayment penalties or the remaining interest/finance charge, which i already knew and understood. My complaint was about the specific statement that says i may be entitled to a REFUND of part of my FINANCE CHARGE if I pay the loan early.

Which again, i paid my loan early and paid 1300 in finance charges... so again why am I not entitled to receive a partial refund of my finance charge??? They even included my loan agreement with this letter they sent me which again has this statement in black and white. When I emailed them I even lowered my refund request down to around $500.

I never recieved any email response from them other than them telling me to contact them and when I did contact them their so called resolution person who I spoke to the first time never called me back like she said she would, and after I called and spoke to another person who said I would receive a phone call back I didn't that time either. Ignoring my complaint about a statement in a loan agreement that is clear as day is not even close to customer service. And responding to me by sending a letter that again doesn't tell me or explain why i cant get a partial refund based on that statement in their loan agreement isn't a resolution either.

In my opinion the only reason why they are ignoring me and choosing not to acknowledge their "prepayment" statement in their loan agreement is because they know I'm right. They know that I could be entitled to a partial refund of my finance charge for paying my loan early and they are so greedy that instead of abiding by their contract and giving me a partial refund they would much rather just ignore it all together.

Original review posted by user Jul 29, 2019

I took out a loan with AWL in April and paid it off in July. It was a for $1500 payments of around $400 per month 12 month term and I paid it off 8 months early and after I paid it off I paid AWL a total of around $2800.

There is a statement in my loan agreement that says "prepayment: if you pay the loan early you will not be subject to a penalty and you may be entitled to a refund of part of the finance charge." I paid my loan 8 months early and my finance charge was over $3600. I contacted AWL and spoke to multiple people who said I can't get a refund. When I asked why they said because i only get a refund if I overpay. I explained that the statement in the loan agreement doesnt say that and they all asked me where in my loan agreement am i seeing that statement.

I had to explain to the representatives where to find a statement in their own loan agreement paperwork!? I filed a complaint with the BBB and i spoke to a resolution specialist with AWL who told me the same thing and again asked where I was reading that statement. She told me she would look into it for me and call me back. That was a week ago....

and not only that but AWL responded to my BBB complaint by saying they never got a hold of me. I spoke to them on 7/22 and the next day is when i received their response to my BBB complaint about never speaking to me. I did put in my BBB that i spoke to the representative and the time I spoke to her as well and AWL never responded after that and the representative still hasnt called me back. I emailed AWL customer service and still nothing.

I have been doing a lot of research and based on what I found it says AWL is illegal in PA which is where I live and I have been told that I actually didn't even have to pay as much as I did because they arent legal in PA. My interest rate was over 300% and based on that statement in my loan agreement i am requesting a refund of only $800. The $800 is the difference between what I paid to AWL and my finance charge. I'm not asking for all of the interest that i paid to AWL, just a refund of part of what I paid based on the statement in my loan agreement, and also there is nothing in my loan agreement that disqualifies me from a receiving a refund of part of my finance charge.

I am upset that AWL hasnt called me back, and that they lied by saying they never got a hold of me, and that everytime i talk to them they tell me that what I'm reading doesn't mean what it says.

They all keep telling me its just that I dont have to pay the remaining finance charge or that i dont get a refund because i didn't overpay. That statement specifically states prepayment and uses the words pay early and refund of part of the finance charge which is all I am asking for.

American Web Loan's reply to:

Thank you to the previous reviewers

American Web Loan (AWL) has been America's trusted online lender since 2010. We offer $300-$2,500 installment loans.

American Web Loan is a tribal lending entity wholly owned by the Otoe-Missouria Tribe of Indians, a federally-recognized Indian tribe. American Web Loan is licensed and regulated by the Otoe-Missouria Consumer Finance Regulatory Commission, which regulates all consumer financial services conducted from tribal land of the Otoe-Missouria Tribe of Indians.

The total cost differs for every loan. Our finance charge is based on an applicant’s creditworthiness, our proprietary scoring method, the amount an applicant chose to borrow and the length of time the applicant chose to keep your loan outstanding. The finance charge and APR are be fully disclosed in an applicant’s loan agreement and presented to the applicant for review and acceptance prior to the loan funding.
ID
#1590355 Review #1590355 is a subjective opinion of poster.

You absolutely saved me from A LOT of stress. I keep receiving offers to take out a loan and at one point considered it but wanted to do research.

Reading the reviews lets me know this isn't a good fit for me.

Sounds like loan sharks!!! Thank God for reviews.

American Web Loan's reply to:

I was told everybody left for today for escalating my call

We would like to thank you for your interest in American Web Loan. For more information, please contact us at 1-877-860-7171 or you can visit our website at https://www.americanwebloan.com.
ID
#1585190 Review #1585190 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Wasn’t able to escalate my issues/process with speaking with

I was told everybody left for today

American Web Loan's reply to:

Overpriced, Loan sharking, Liars

Thank you for your recent feedback. We greatly appreciate you reaching out to us with your concerns. We are glad that we could come to an agreement for your concerns. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact us at 877-860-7171.
ID
#1575543 Review #1575543 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Worst lender ever
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$176
Preferred solution
Full refund

I recently took out a loan for $400 because I have fallen on hard times. When I read the application, I was told I’ll be 6 payments of $58.76 to pay it off.

When I downloaded the app and looked at the agreement, it stated that I had a 580% interest rate and I would be paying back well over $1500 for a $400 loan which is ridiculous. Don’t get a loan from them, they are scammers.

American Web Loan's reply to:

Rip off company

Thank you for notifying us of your concerns. One our agents reached out to you, and we were able to come to a resolution. Thank you for your time and consideration.
ID
#1555366 Review #1555366 is a subjective opinion of poster.

They lie to you about your payments being twice a month and don’t try and fix it for you. They charge you 600 percent interest which is a rip off. My $700 dollar loan they are charging me 450 a month for 9 months ridiculous and the way they did it was very sneaky not to mention illegal to charge that much interest!!!

American Web Loan's reply to:

Paying off American Web Loan

We would like to speak with you regarding your account to provide you with more information on our processes. The experience you referenced is not one of our processes. Please contact us at 877-860-7171.
ID
#1544676 Review #1544676 is a subjective opinion of poster.

I am wanting to pay off a loan completely but the only way they will let me pay it off is to give them my bank account information or use a Green Dot card. I am willing to send a money order to an address but they refuse to allow this option.

I am not sending my bank account to them because I don't trust they won't then take more money out of my account instead of letting me pay it off.

I have gone round and round with them to no avail. I now believe it might be easier dealing with a collection agency.

They want to run up the interest while I just want to pay the loan in full.

American Web Loan's reply to:

Run the other way

Thank you for your recent feedback. We appreciate you voicing your concerns and would like to help to resolve them. One of our team members attempted to contact you. However, we were not able to reach you. Please contact our offices at your earliest convenience so that we may discuss some options and come up with a resolution. We can be reached at 877-860-7171.
ID
#1541222 Review #1541222 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service

took a loan out for my pet surgery, first couple of payment fine then they started posting to my bank 3 days early which earn me a 36.00 dollar overdraft, call them they told me i made the mistake lol, so now when it post to my bank acct early my bank returns it , i have talk to 4 people there they say it's recorded line fine i have been recording them also they have lied and said this will be corrected ha ha it has not so i have brought my recording to my states attny. general office and will be waiting for them to not let them do bussiness in Minnesota

American Web Loan's reply to:

Blood Sucking Thieves

Thank you for your recent feedback. We greatly appreciate you reaching out to us with your concerns. We are glad that we could come to an agreement for your concerns. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact us at 877-860-7171.
ID
#1528874 Review #1528874 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
American Web Loan Loan

AWL is a terrible option for people in need, instead of helping, they just cause more harm !!! I was aware of the terrible loan i was getting into and i cant balme them for that part, i needed cash and agreed to the aweful interest rate they offered, knowing i was going to pay it back early.

This is where i had issues with this company !!! They push you to download their app and use it to make extra payments, then when you try to, it never works. It tells you that you are to close to your regularly scheduled payment date. I waited till my regularly scheduled payment of $94 dollars was taken from my bank account on Friday May 3rd, 2019, then tried several times that day to make the payoff of $803 dollars, with no success.

Again on Saturday, i went on the app to try again, the payoff was now $816 & i received the same message not allowing me to make the payoff, to close to my scheduled payment date. So then i tried their website, it also wouldnt allow me to make the payoff of $816, no reason given, it just wouldnt accept it. Finally i was able to schedule an $800 payment on the website, but it made me use the date of Tuesday, 5/7/19 which increased the payoff ammount yet again. So i was finally able to contact AWL by phone today and i attempted to settle my account for the payoff ammount of the $803 that it was when i originally tried the entire day to make the payoff and was rudely told i couldnt and that the amount went up once again to $868.

So basically i am expected/forced to pay an additional $65 dollars for their faulty app and website or the loan wont be closed and will continue to accrue interest. All told, in 4 weeks i made four $94 dollar payments on a $800 dollar loan and i still owe $868 now......stay away from these Blood Sucking Thieves !!!!

American Web Loan's reply to:

Refund

Thank you for your recent feedback. We greatly appreciate you reaching out to us with your concerns. We are glad that we could come to an agreement for your concerns. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact us at 877-860-7171.
ID
#1523902 Review #1523902 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
American Web Loan Customer Care
Reason of review
Problem with delivery
Loss
$159
Preferred solution
Full refund

I paid my loan off in Feb.2019 and there was another payment of $159.08 taken from my account. I've have talked to several people and tried to get this resolved. I am sending my bank info in hopes of resolving this issue.

Statement Date: Enclosures: Account No.: Page: 300******( 1)(1)04/15/2019 1

CHOICE CHECKING SUMMARY Type : Status : **TRNC Active Category Number Amount Balance Forward From 03/15/19 27.61 Debits 1 650.00 Automatic Withdrawals 1 159.08 Automatic Deposits 1 1,111.52+ Card Activity 13 325.51 Ending Balance On 04/15/19 4.54 Average Balance (Ledger) 69.39+

Direct Inquiries About Electronic Entries To: Phone: (270) 982 - ****

ALL CREDIT ACTIVITY

Date Description Amount 03/25/19 ANTELOPE FLATS, PAYROLL 1,111.52

ELECTRONIC DEBITS Date Description Amount 03/18/19 PUR GOOGLE BUFFALOSTUDIOS MOUNTAIN VIEW CA 2.99 03/18/19 PUR GOOGLE BUFFALOSTUDIOS MOUNTAIN VIEW CA 2.99 03/19/19 PUR GOOGLE BUFFALOSTUDIOS MOUNTAIN VIEW CA 2.99 03/19/19 PUR GOOGLE BUFFALOSTUDIOS MOUNTAIN VIEW CA 2.99 03/19/19 PUR GOOGLE BUFFALOSTUDIOS MOUNTAIN VIEW CA 9.99 03/25/19 PUR GOOGLE BUFFALOSTUDIOS MOUNTAIN VIEW CA 2.99 03/26/19 PUR GOOGLE BUFFALOSTUDIOS MOUNTAIN VIEW CA 2.99 03/26/19 AWL877860**** DEBIT 159.08 03/27/19 VSA PUR GOOGLE BUFFALOSTUDIOS G.CO HELPPAY CA 2.99 03/28/19 PUR WAL-MART 0709 ELIZABETHTOWN KY 84.48 03/28/19 VSA PUR COXS SMOKERS OUTLET - MOUNT WASHING KY 53.11 03/29/19 VSA PMT DB TWC TIMEWARNERCABLE 513-469-**** OH 129.75 04/01/19 PUR GOOGLE BUFFALOSTUDIOS MOUNTAIN VIEW CA 2.99 04/01/19 VSA PUR CHICK-FIL-A 02500 LOUISVILLE KY 24.26

Continued 04/3007/1

Statement Date: Enclosures: Account No.: Page: 300******( 1)(1)04/15/2019 2

CHECKS AND OTHER DEBITS * indicates a gap in the check numbers Date Check # Amount Date Check # Amount Date Check # Amount 03/26/19 650.00

DAILY BALANCE SUMMARY Beginning Ledger Balance on 03/15/19 was 27.61 Date Balance Date Balance Date Balance 03/18/19 21.63 03/19/19 5.66 03/25/19 1,114.19 03/26/19 302.12 03/27/19 299.13 03/28/19 161.54 03/29/19 31.79 04/01/19 4.54

COLLECTED BALANCE SUMMARY Beginning Ledger Balance on 03/15/19 was 27.61 Date Balance Date Balance Date Balance 03/18/19 21.63 03/19/19 5.66 03/25/19 1,114.19 03/26/19 302.12 03/27/19 299.13 03/28/19 161.54 03/29/19 31.79 04/01/19 4.54

OVERDRAFT FEE SUMMARY Total For This Period Total Year-To-Date Total Overdraft Fees $0.00 $0.00 Total Returned Item Fees $0.00 $160.00

This Statement Cycle Reflects 31 Days

American Web Loan's reply to:

Unauthorized loan 2-14-2019

We recently had contact with you and are currently working towards a resolution for your concerns. Please contact us at 877-860-7171. Thank you.
ID
#1516022 Review #1516022 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
American Web Loan Loan

Three hundred dollars was deposited by wire transfer into an inactive checking account. I did not apply for a loan.

Called my bank. There directed me to AWL for resolution.

Called twice. No reply

American Web Loan's reply to:

RIp OFF Rip Off Rip Off

Thank you for your recent feedback. We greatly appreciate you reaching out to us with your concerns. We are glad that we could come to an agreement for your concerns. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact us at feedback@americanwebloan.com or call us at 877-860-7171.
ID
#1512527 Review #1512527 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
American Web Loan Loan
Reason of review
The interest is Enormous. RIP off for consumers
Loss
$600
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

I cannot believe I fell for this scam. You take advantage of people in every horrible way.

Borrowed $600 paying back over $1500.......I have already paid back $1079.00 with 5 more payments. I am so embarrassed that I didn't read the fin print. This should be out lawed. My husband has lost his job and this makes me want to cry.

I am paying $134.95 every other week. I am so upset.

I understand that I would pay more interest but really? This is like a legalized loan shark.

C Johnson

American Web Loan's reply to:

Loan Sharks are better

We are in receipt of your recent complaint. Our records indicate we have reached a mutual agreement. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact us at feedback@americanwebloan.com or call us at 877-860-7171.
ID
#1490345 Review #1490345 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
American Web Loan Loan
Pros
  • Process quickly
  • Easy and quick to get my money
Cons
  • Terms
  • Worst lender ever
Reason of review
loan sharking
Loss
$2000
Preferred solution
recalculation of finance charges and a refund for overpayment
American Web Loan - Loan Sharks are better

I recently took a 2000.00 loan knowing I would repay quickly. I saws the interest rate was excessively high but was in a tough spot.

After 7 payments I paid in full ~1862.00 (on a 1670.68 balance) which meant that of the 7 payments I made very little went to principle. In fact two of the payments were recorded as interest only. I expected an adjustment when paying in full that would change the interest rate and give me a refund of overpayment.

There was none though the contract says there could be if paying off early. paying off with 11 payments left...

Really appreciate it

Natalie understood what I needed quickly and moved me through the process seamlessly. She communicated well and was able to hand me off to Jonathan to complete my account changes quickly. Really appreciate it. - J. Millan
View full review
Testimonial

American Web Loan is a paying client of Opinion Corp and utilizes its services to proactively identify and correct customer service issues.

ID
#1484764 Review #1484764 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
American Web Loan Customer Care
Reason of review
Good customer service

She was KNOWLEDGABLE, and the process was SEAMLESS

Natalie was excellent. This was the second time I spoke with her. Her attitude was INSPIRING, she had COMMITMENT to SERVICE, She was KNOWLEDGABLE, and the process was SEAMLESS and EFFECTIVE. Having been a QA MANAGER for many years, NATALIE was EXCELLLENT!!! Natalie took the time to thank me for being a returning customer, she remembered speaking with me and took the time to speak with leadership about my issue. Also, she provided detail on why she had to receive approval. - G. Ramey
View full review
Testimonial

American Web Loan is a paying client of Opinion Corp and utilizes its services to proactively identify and correct customer service issues.

ID
#1484767 Review #1484767 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
American Web Loan Customer Care
Reason of review
Good customer service